About Me

          

My name’s Daina Groza and I come from a small country south of Finland called Latvia. I am currently studying Textile Design at DeMonfort University. Previously to that I studied a fashion Course at Leicester College and then furthermore, an Art & Design foundation course to improve my drawings skills along with other techniques.

My visit to my home country. Riga - the capital of Latvia. By Daina Groza, Riga, Latvia, 09/2014

My visit to my home country. Riga – the capital of Latvia. By Daina Groza, Riga, Latvia, 09/2014

 During secondary school it was compulsory to study textiles as a subject, which I particularly enjoyed. I moved to the UK in 2009 at the age of 14. With very little understanding of the English language I was instructed to part take in practical subjects such as art and textiles. My favourite area of expertise is knitting.

In my free time I like to make knitted toys. By Daina Groza, Leicester College, Leicetser, 05/2014

In my free time I like to make knitted toys. By Daina Groza, Leicester College, Leicetser, 05/2014

 

 I like to experiment with different techniques and materials. I use lots of bold and bright colours to create vary effects that will stand out.

My observation and Interpretation Studio work created using inks and bleach. By Daina Groza,DMU, Leicester, 09/10/2014

My observation and Interpretation Studio work created using inks and bleach. By Daina Groza,DMU, Leicester, 09/10/2014

 My main inspiration is my godmother, Valentine, who lives in the quiet countryside in Latvia. Her profession was multi language teacher for teenagers. In her spear time she enjoys drawing, sculptures building and experimenting with textiles. Her primary materials would be reclaimed, recycled materials she would find and use them in her sculpture building, demonstrated in image below.

Some of my Grandmother's sculptures, her front garden decorations. By Daina Groza, Aglona, Latvia, 09/2014

Some of my Grandmother’s sculptures, her front garden decorations. By Daina Groza, Aglona, Latvia, 09/2014

 

Another muse of mine and too many others is Sandra Backlund, fashion designer from Stockholm. She has a very distinctive style using bold and chunky knitting techniques.

The collection from Sandra Backlund, “Ink Blot Test. photo by Peter Farago, June 15th, 2007

The collection from Sandra Backlund, “Ink Blot Test.photo by Peter Farago, June 15th, 2007

Bibliography

Leave a comment